Appalachian State University Chancellor Search

This is the official page for Appalachian State University’s chancellor search. Please check in regularly as this page will be updated throughout the search process.

Last updated: July 1, 2024

A national search has been announced for the next Chancellor of Appalachian State University. On June 28, 2024 University of North Carolina System President Peter Hans announced the formation of the 13-member advisory committee that will search for the next chancellor of Appalachian State University.

The committee will offer opportunities for input from students, faculty, staff and the public at large.

Chancellor Search Information

Search Announcement by UNC System President Peter Hans

Search Advisory Committee

  • Committee Chair:
    Deanna Ballard

    Principal Evergreen Management Consulting, LLC

  • Wendy Floyd Murphy

    Chair, University of North Carolina Board of Governors

  • C. Philip Byers ’85

    Member, University of North Carolina Board of Governors

  • Peter Hans

    President of the UNC System

  • Mark E. Ricks ’89

    Chair, Appalachian State University Board of Trustees

  • R. Thomas Sofield ’76

    Secretary, Appalachian State University Board of Trustees

  • Scott Lampe ’94

    Member, Appalachian State University Board of Trustees

  • Brandon Adcock ’06

    CEO at wellful

  • Dr. Jacqui Bergman

    Chair, Appalachian State University Faculty Senate, Professor of Management

  • Kathryn Long

    Appalachian State University Student Body President

  • Courtney Thompson ’17

    Appalachian State University Assistant Director of Scheduling and Communications

  • Kimberly van Noort

    Chancellor, University of North Carolina Asheville

  • Bradley Wilson ’75

    CEO Emeritus, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina

Search Process

Under UNC System policy, the search advisory committee is composed of up to 13 voting members, including representatives of the trustees, faculty, staff, students and alumni. The policy also calls for a current or former chancellor of a UNC System institution to serve, as well as members of the Board of Governors and the UNC System president or his designee.

Read the UNC 200.8 - Policy on Chancellor Searches and Elections.