View larger image

Left to right: John and Faye Cooper, Appalachian State University Chancellor Sheri N. Everts and Mayor Roy James Maness. The Coopers and Maness were recently named honorary alumni by the university’s alumni association. Photo by Marie Freeman

Advancement Corner

News from Randy Edwards, interim vice chancellor for advancement
Wednesday, November 2, 2016

At a recent celebration on campus at the Appalachian House, the Alumni Association’s Honorary Alumni Award was presented to Faye and John Cooper of Valle Crucis and The Honorable Roy James Maness of Troy. This award was established in 1992 to recognize individuals who have given unselfishly of themselves to Appalachian but never graduated from nor attended the university. We are indebted to the Coopers and Mayor Maness for their strong commitment to the university’s mission and outstanding service to the university. Read more

During the Homecoming 2016 celebrations, Appalachian presented the Outstanding Service Award to D. Kenan Smith ’84 and E. Hayes Smith ’82, the Distinguished Alumni Award to James M. Deal Jr. ‘71, and the Young Alumni Award to Susan M. Branch ’99. The considerable contributions made to the university by these honorees have impacted our students, the Appalachian Community and the State of North Carolina in countless ways. We are very proud to bestow these honors on such loyal and deserving alumni. Read more