Board of Trustees

The Appalachian State University Board of Trustees is a thirteen-member body that promotes the development of the institution within the functions prescribed by the UNC Board of Governors. The Board serves as advisor to the Board of Governors on matters pertaining to the University and also serves as advisor to the Chancellor concerning the management and development of Appalachian. The powers and duties of the Board of Trustees are primarily defined and delegated by the Board of Governors.

Individuals are appointed to four-year terms by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the UNC Board of Governors. Included as a voting member of the Board is the President of Appalachian's Student Government Association. The President of Appalachian's Alumni Council, and Chairs of the Faculty Senate and Staff Senate serve as ex officio constituency representatives to the Board.

Board Members

Ex-Officio Representatives

Scheduled Meetings

  • Mar
    Board of Trustees meeting (retreat session)
    Friday, March 10, 2017
    Paragon Bank Boardroom, located at 3535 Glenwood Avenue, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Mar
    Board of Trustees meeting
    March 23-24, 2017
  • Jun
    Board of Trustees meeting
    June 22-23, 2017
  • Sep
    Board of Trustees meeting
    September 21-22, 2017
  • Dec
    Board of Trustees meeting
    December 7-8, 2017

March 10, 2017 Meeting Materials

Meeting Minutes

Minutes are posted after being approved at the next Board meeting.