Front row, L to R: M. Lee Barnes, Jr., Carole P. Wilson, Amy A. Sanders, Avery B. Hall, Sr., Chancellor Sheri N. Everts, Michael A. Steinback, Bradley T. Adcock, Alice G. Roess, Brenda White Wright. Back row, L to R: James M. Barnes, Andy M. Koch, James K. Reaves, Carson D. Rich, Charles V. Murray, Frank A. Daniels, Jr., Donald C. Beaver, and H. Martin Lancaster

Board of Trustees

The Appalachian State University Board of Trustees is a thirteen-member body that promotes the development of the institution within the functions prescribed by the UNC Board of Governors. The board serves as advisor to the Board of Governors on matters pertaining to the University and also serves as advisor to the chancellor concerning the management and development of Appalachian. The powers and duties of the Board of Trustees are primarily defined and delegated by the Board of Governors.

Individuals are appointed to four-year terms on the board by either the governor of North Carolina or the UNC Board of Governors. Included as a voting member of the board is the president of Appalachian's Student Government Association. The presidents of Appalachian's Alumni Council, Faculty Senate and Staff Senate serve as ex officio members of the board.

Scheduled Meetings

  • Jun
    Board of Trustees meeting
    June 25-26, 2015
  • Sep
    Board of Trustees meeting
    September 24-25, 2015
  • Dec
    Board of Trustees meeting
    December 3-4, 2015

Meeting Minutes

Minutes are posted after being approved at the next Board meeting.

Board Members

  • Bradley T. Adcock
    106 Lindenthal Court
    Cary, NC 27513
    Phone: 919-469-2583
    Fax: 919-765-2432
    Term: 2017
  • M. Lee Barnes, Jr.
    MM Fowler, Inc.
    4220 Neal Road
    Durham, NC 27705
    Phone: 919-309-2925 x215
    Fax: 919-309-9924
    Term: 2017
  • Frank A. Daniels, Jr.
    Suite 600, 234 Fayetteville Street
    Raleigh, NC 27601
    Phone: 919-829-4695
    Fax: 919-573-8200
    Term: 2015
  • H. Martin Lancaster
    410 S. Maple Avenue #611
    Falls Church, VA 22046
    Phone: 919-744-7737
    Term: 2015
  • Carson D. Rich
    Student Government Association President
    Plemmons Student Union
    Boone, NC 28608
    Phone: 828-262-6254
    Fax: 828-262-6502
    Cell: 980-253-5037
    Term: 2015
  • Michael A. Steinback
    54 Cedar Hill Drive
    Asheville, NC 28803
    Phone: 828-277-3661
    Fax: 828-277-3662
    Term: 2015
  • Brenda White Wright
    1821 Birchwood Road
    Kingsport, TN 37660
    Phone: 423-246-3673
    Fax: 423-246-3673
    Term: 2015

Ex-Officio Representatives

  • Andy M. Koch
    Faculty Senate Chair, Department of Government & Justice Studies
    ASU Box 32107
    Boone, NC 28608
    Phone: 828-262-6498
    Fax: 828-262-2947
    Term: 2015
  • Amy A. Sanders
    Staff Senate Chair
    Conferences and Camp Services - ASU Box 32042
    Boone, NC 28608
    Phone: 828-262-2744
    Fax: 828-262-4992
    Term: 2015
  • James K. Reaves
    Alumni Council President
    BB&T, 110 S. Stratford Road, Suite 303
    Wintson-Salem, NC 27104
    Phone: 336-817-0832
    Term: 2015

Assistant Secretary

  • Kathy B. Roark
    Office of the Chancellor
    ASU Box 32002
    Boone, NC 28608
    Phone: 828-262-2040
    Fax: 828-262-3024